Nominations - Hints and Tips

Managed by the Property Council of Australia, the national Innovation & Excellence Awards is one of the most prestigious property awards programs in Australia, promoting excellence in design and innovation in the built environment since 1982.

The Property Council of Australia aims to showcase superior examples of iconic projects in property development and investment across a broad range of sectors and design disciplines.

By entering the National Innovation & Excellence Awards, projects are automatically considered for the State Development of the Year (excluding Future Leader of the Year, Diversity and Innovation nominations that don’t relate to physical developments).

You must enter the National Awards to be in the running for your State Development of the Year. The judging for the State Development of the Year occurs at the same time as the judging for the National Awards. No matter what award category you enter in (excluding the Future Leader of the Year, Diversity and Innovation) you will be judged against other projects in the same state.


Do you qualify to nominate for the Innovation and Excellence Awards?

  • Nominees must be Property Council of Australia member.

  • Projects must have been completed in the previous 5 years (subject to category criteria)

  • Projects must be operating for at least one year as at 31 December 2020 (refer to category)

  • Projects must not have previously won the award in the same category

  • Project financials MUST be supplied (refer to nomination form). If project financials are not provided, a score of 5 out of 10 will be awarded for that criteria (refer to category criteria for more information).


Have you answered all the criteria?

  • Submissions should be clear and concise, ensuring that all criteria is answered truthfully

  • Focus on what sets your project apart from others and most importantly, detail the economic, social and environmental impacts the project has in the community and industry

  • Innovation should be clearly expressed in your responses

  • If you are supplying supporting documentation, please upload them on the ‘Attachments’ tab of the online form in the fields 5 & 6 (upload attachments). All attachments 1-4 must be high res images.

    When completing your online submission, there is an 800-word limit to help focus on ideas.


Have you submitted financial information?

The Innovation and Excellence Awards are unique in measuring a development’s success by way of operational efficiency, design and return on investment. Requested financials MUST be submitted. Please ensure the development metrics are completed on your nomination form. All financial information will be treated as confidential and will not be made public in any form. Please note that all judges are required to sign a confidentiality agreement.

If you do not disclose full financials, the judges cannot assess the development’s performance and as a result you will compromise your chance of winning. A score of 5 out of 10 will be awarded if financials are not supplied. Should you wish to supply your financials in confidence, please contact Kelly Richards 02 9033 1983 to arrange for financials to be forwarded onto John McCarthy, Chair of the judging panel who will provide a score for your financials on behalf of all the judges.


Have you submitted high resolution images?

  • Images that accurately represent the character of the project are instrumently in judges decision-making process

  • Each nomination must include a minimum of 4 images and a maximum of 6 images. An additional 3 images are also to be supplied focusing on quality of design and finish (refer to category)


All images MUST be high resolution and in colour (minimum 300dpi jpep files). Note: There is no file size limit.


How much does it cost to enter?

The cost to enter the awards is $1,260 (incl of GST) per nomination (excluding the Future Leader of the Year category). Payment is made by credit card or direct deposit and must be received no later than 5pm (AEDT) on Friday 9 April 2021 for your entry to be valid. You can pay at any time prior to this deadline by clicking on ‘Submit Entry’ button within the portal. You can edit your nomination after you have paid up until the deadline. Please note payments by credit card will incur a processing fee.


Must I use the online form?

It is imperative that the online form is used to complete your nomination with the correct and most up-to-date information. It is also important to ensure the name of the project, owner and nominator are provided as you wish them to be displayed on all judging, marketing, PR, and presentation collateral.

There should be only one person who is the main point of contact. This person must be completely familiar with the project and submission, should the judges or organisers have any further questions. Full contact details must be included on the nomination form.


Are you keeping it simple?

All nominees are to use the online submission portal to submit your nomination. You don’t have to complete your submission all in one go. You can continue to edit your entry as often as you like until entries close at 5pm (AEDT), Friday 9 April 2021. You can also begin an entry without paying, so there’s no harm in making a start today. Just ensure that payment is made before the close of entries, so your entry is acceptable.

Each nomination, submission and project images are presented to the judges in an identical manner to ensure objectivity. Keep the focus on presenting the project and images in a clear and concise manner.