History of Awards

In 1982, as the property industry gathered to present its first annual awards for excellence and innovation, many of the buildings that now shape our skylines, bring life to our cities and energy to local economies were still distant dreams or sketches on the drawing board.

Since then, the Property Council of Australia (originally the Builders Owners and Managers Association) has been recognising and rewarding excellence. And Rider Levett Bucknall has been the proud sponsor and supporter of the awards program for each of these 39 years.

In 1991, the Property Council's state-based award programs were amalgamated into a national program to recognise excellence across the country.

From 1991, the Rider Levett Bucknall Australian Development of the Year has been presented to some of the nation's most iconic buildings.

1990 The Rider Hunt BOMA National Awards

The bronze sculpture ‘Aspiration’ was selected from 12 designs entered into a competition conducted by the Property Council of Australia, RLB, and the Art Gallery of NSW in Australia to recognise achievement in commercial property excellence.

2018 Front Cover Design

In 2006 our awards program evolved once more, rebranded as the Innovation and Excellence Awards to celebrate leading-edge practice and inspire innovation within our industry.

Excellence was recognised across 12 categories:

- Office Developments
- Shopping Centre Developments
- Emerging Assets

- Tourism & Leisure Development
- Business or Industrial Parks
- Residential Development
- Government Leadership

- Heritage and adaptive Reuse
- Master Planned Communities
- Mixed Use Development
- Public Buildings
- Sustainable Developments

As Australian cities continue to expand, our industry responds to myraid challengers - from delivering affordable housing to supporting Australians as they age, and from improving the environmental sustainability or buildings or creating a rich and diverse workforce.


As a result, a number of new categories have been introduced.

In 2007, we began to recognise our next generation of talent through Future Leader of the Year Award. In 2010, the Retirement Living and office Workplace categories were introduced, and the following year the Sustainable Development category was expanded to recognise the different approaches taken on new and existing buildings.

In 2012, the Award for Innovation first gained its moment in the spotlight and has since transformed into two awards: one for Project Innovation and another for Development Innovation.


The Award for Best affordable Housing Development was presented in 2015, while the Award for Diversity, introduced in 2016, has been split into two categories in 2017 in response to the number of entries.

While the categories and number of entrants have grown, and the quality and sophistication of the entries have increased, the underlying aim of the awards remains the same: to support and showcase the developments creating brilliant places for all Australians.


Each year the Property Council's national judging panel awards an Australian Development of the Year winner. Some of Australia's most iconic developments have been awarded throughout the years:


1991 Advance Bank Centre, ACT

1992 1 O’Connell Street, Sydney

1993 Carindale Shopping Centre, Carindale and 120 Collins Street, Melbourne

1994 Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Gold Coast

1995 Governor Phillip Tower, Sydney

1996 Whitford City Shopping Centre, Perth

1997 St Patrick’s Estate, Manly

1998 Network 10 Headquarters, Sydney

1999 Admiralty Quays, Brisbane

2000 Riverside Corporate Park, North Ryde

2001 No. 1 Martin Place, Sydney

2002 Aurora Place, Sydney

2003 120 Edward Street, Brisbane

2004 University Square, Melbourne University

2005 30 The Bond, Sydney

2006 Lyell McEwin Hospital Redevelopment, Adelaide

2007 Deutsche Bank Place, Sydney

2008 Riparian Plaza, Brisbane

2009 Rouse Hill Town Centre, NSW

2010 One Shelley Street, Sydney

2011 ANZ Centre, Melbourne

2012 Fairfax Media House, Melbourne

2013 Darling Quarter and Commonwealth Bank Place, Sydney

2014 Brookfield Place, Perth

2015 8 Chifley, Sydney

2016 50 Martin Place, Sydney

2017 5 Martin Place, Sydney

2018 Barangaroo South, Sydney

2019 International House Sydney, Barangaroo

2020 Investa's Barrack Place, Sydney